Sceptically Fit

04/12/2011

A Warming Winter Drink Treat

Filed under: Recipes — Tags: , , — Sceptically Me @ 18:30

I saw this Creamy Tumeric Tea on Mark’s Daily Apple where he says “Turmeric tea will perk you up in the morning, calm you down at night and soothe sniffles and sore throats.” Feeling a little on the verge of a cold myself, I decided to try it.

  • 8 ounces (1 cup) almond or coconut milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/2-inch wide round slice of ginger root, peeled and finely chopped
  • Dash of cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 – 1 teaspoon honey or other sweetener
  • Optional additions: a small pat of butter, cinnamon, cardamom

I misread slightly and used a whole teaspoon of turmeric but I don’t think that was a problem – if anything my dash of cayenne may have been more generous than I meant. Adhering to the traditional hot toddy belief I didn’t stint on the honey, and added about a teaspoon of cinnamon.

Very tasty, and certainly warming. I’m inclined to think I might water it down a little next time. I don’t find the coconut milk too strong/thick, but I did find half a can was able to be drunk far too quickly.

Reading through the comments on the post – several people commented that black pepper is usually served with turmeric as the piperine in the black pepper (not present in cayenne pepper)  helps the  body absorb the beneficial curcumin from the turmeric. So I might try that next time.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

