Sceptically Fit

30/12/2011

Post-Xmas DeBrief

Filed under: Personal — Tags: , , — Sceptically Me @ 21:57

Travelling – that’s the hardest part. I spent five days with my boyfriend’s family for Xmas. We had an almost nine hour journey by train. And considering the state of my diet in the last month, I didn’t really feel like pushing for something approaching healthy food. In fact, I was happy to indulge.

We made two sandwiches each with lovely chewy ciabatta which I don’t regret (mozzarella and rocket with either salami or parma ham). Sandwiches are the easy travel food. We also bought a ham and cheese quiche. And the big downfall were the Mr Kipling cakes that he spied at the supermarket. I will say that the French Fancies turned out to be too sugary for either of us to eat more than one each. But the mini Battenburgs were lovely – I need to invest in quality marzipan for future treats!

So the first day down south, I already woke up feeling bloated. But its Christmas, I’m going to enjoy myself. I’m glad I didn’t bring any particularly body-conscious clothes, but otherwise I managed to not feel too crappy (aside from alcohol consumption) the whole time. In an attempt to negate some of the ill effects of eating so much wheat and sugar, I did take fibre capsules with me. I think perhaps starting them a few days before the holiday may help more by giving yourself a bit more time to adjust. But I think it did make a difference – at least I felt better (though not great) than I did last year.

Several Christmas dinners with turkey and trimmings – which made me realise that if I’d had the willpower (or more accurately, the desire) to say no to stuffing it would have been a pretty healthy meal – roast potatoes, swede, parsnips, carrots, peas, broccoli, turkey and gravy! There were Yorkshire puddings with the second Christmas dinner, I had one and realised once you are used to not eating that kind of thing, they aren’t that tasty. I’d rather mop up the gravy with roast potato.

Holiday-time, there was plenty of desserts (sherry-soaked trifle was my favourite!), chocolates and crisps at all time.  Other meals tended to be of the very easy/comfort food variety – takeaway fish and chips, and roadside Cornish Pasty. Breakfast is often held up as the hardest meal to adjust to on paleo/low-carb but on holiday its the easiest. Everyone is happy to see someone eat eggs and bacon, and no one is shocked at someone saying they are still full from the feast the night before.

I do wish I’d been a bit healthier leading up to Christmas, though maybe then the bad diet would have felt worse. And I do want to come up with a better travel food – sandwiches are a bit just so easy but low on both vegetable and protein count. When we made them ourselves that was fine – it was a treat because all the ingredients were worth it. But buying them from the railway station between changes – they were not tasty enough to warrant the bloated feeling.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

