Sceptically Fit

18/02/2012

Turning a Setback into a Success

Filed under: Personal — Tags: , — Sceptically Me @ 17:47

Saturdays are my long run day – a gentle non-gylcogen-depleating long run of about 19-22km. I had the house to myself this morning, and was feeling very much in need of a coffee first thing so I decided to take my time to breakfast and then head out for the run.

Sun streamed through my window while I had my coffee, a couple of eggs and some bananas and read the news, surfed a bit – you know weekend morning stuff. Got dressed, did my warm up and headed out. Into snow and hail!

I got about a km away from home before I decided to turn back and head to the gym instead. Now there’s no way I can cope with running on a treadmill for 2 hours. I hate treadmill running so much I don’t think missing one run is motivation to force myself there. Instead I decided to up my lifts – it had been an accidental rest week due to work so now was a good time to push myself. Squat, sumo deadlift, overhead press, bench press, hip thrust all upped. Increased reps on assisted chinups, assisted pullups and standard deadlifts. Even increased the number of sprints I did at the end of the workout (that’s what treadmills are for – sprint workouts!).

  • Barbell Squat – 5×3 35kg (up 5kg!)
  • Overhead Press – 5×4 25kg
  • Sumo Deadlift – 5×1 65kg
  • Deadlift – 5×1 60kg
  • Romanian Deadlift – 4×8 35kg
  • Bench Press – 5×4 32.5kg
  • Barbell Hip Thrust 4×10 50kg
  • Assisted chinup – 5 at -7.5kg
  • Assisted pullup 5 at -15.5kg
  • plank – 120secs
  • sprints – 7 at 14km/hr

Out of all that – the Romanian/Straight-leg deadlift if the only one I didn’t increase weight or rep/time. Strength-wise I think the sumo, deadlift and hip thrust cover what the Romanian/Straightleg deadlift covers without the same risk to my back when increasing the weight. If anything I tend to be using it more as a loosening up/cardio move after theproper deadlifts.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

