Sceptically Fit

03/01/2013

2012 Goal Review

Filed under: Personal — Tags: , — Sceptically Me @ 01:00

I fell very short in meeting my New Year Resolutions for 2012 but I’ve made some progress in some areas, and in many ways I’ve improved my life in areas I didn’t think I needed to prioritise.

Overall WellBeing

  • get eight hours sleep most nights: I’ve definitely  lacked on this – my sleep patterns have been very mixed up. Yet at the same time, I think I’ve increased my awareness of my sleep needs. I’m still working on  taking the time to meet those needs but I’m definitely more aware of how I feel better about everything if I have decent sleep.
  • Complete a 30 day Paleo challenge Continue eating paleo most of the time – From a brief (mostly) paleo January the rest of the year kind of fell apart. I’ve been eating badly – especially a lot of processed food and wheat based food. I’ve been binging on chocolate (especially Cadbury wholenut) but overeating in general. The plus I can take away from this year is an increased awareness of the way various food makes me feel. I’ve been dealing with increasing IBS symptoms, and for the last month or so – GERD!.
  • Smoke less – this was actually a sucess
  • Move into my own apartment: two moves this year but I’ve ended up at a very nice share place in nice part of town
  • Keep my home clean and tidy: Getting there – I’m definitely the messy flatmate
  • Keep my houseplants alive: thanks to my moves – not even attempted
  • Email/Call/Skype more often with friends and family:  I’ve reached out, but still a work in progress.

Fitness Goals

  • be able to do a full pull up – not yet achieve, oh well, can roll over again.
  • do the Survival of the Fittest and be able to get over the 6″ wall without help: This is the best fail – I had to pull out of the race because I signed up for a rollerskating course that started that day.
  • run a half marathon in under two hours in May : The worse run I’ve ever had. But I consider it a sucess – I finished the race. It was awful, it hurt every step of the way.

Creative/Lifestyle Goals

  • improve my paleo cooking – This got worse – for a while I was doing ok in that I was at least cooking comfort food for myself. Then I stopped doing that and just started buying ready meals. Obviously, a big part of my diet fail was how easy it was not to eat well when you aren’t cooking.
  • complete the beginners swing dancing course  – another fail. Marathon running took over, new job took over, sprained ankle, then success – interest replaced by roller derby! (still want to go back again though)
  • finish a book a month: Not this prolific but I’ve definitely read a lot more this year.
  • take the time to indulge my creative side at least once a week: I go my sewing machine out at least…

 

Other Success!

  • I got a new job
  • started learning spanish on my commute
  • started cycling more  – to skate class, to and from the office or train station
  • Roller Derby!
  • revamped my wardrobe – had fallen into a bit of a frump
  • International travel – Budapest!
Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

